Some Enchanted Evening


Last Friday night I headed out to the Electric Dance Hall to attend the party they were holding to celebrate the anniversary of their opening day all those years ago. The actual anniversary wasn’t really on that day, or even during that week, but Lord Junior said that as long as he had the celebratory party during the same month as the original opening day he would call that a win. I showed up at the Electric Dance Hall with tons of time before the actual party started, so the group class that was being held beforehand was still going on when I got there. They were going over some basic Cha-Cha stuff, so I prepared myself to dance a lot of Cha-Cha that night.

I had fun at the party that night. I feel like it had been quite a while since I had just gone out to dance for fun rather than going out to dance for practice purposes, and sometimes you need to just have fun. After all, one of the big three rules is that you’ve got to have fun, right? I believe that it’s right up there with staying safe as rule one, and keeping your form as rule two. I also got to spend time with a bunch of people I hadn’t seen in a while, and I did my best to hide my amusement at HotDog’s constant attempts to try to dance with only the youngest, most attractive ladies who were at the party. About halfway through the night Lord Junior gave a brief speech about how awesome the years at the Electric Dance Hall have been, and told us all about his hopes that the success of the studio continue for many years to come.

One unexpected thing did happen that nearly stopped my heart that night. I had just gotten done dancing something, I don’t even remember what it was now, and was going to work my way back to the side of the dance floor to pick up a new partner for the next song when suddenly I felt a hand on my shoulder. I turned around to see the Dance Robots standing there smiling at me. I love these two – they make me so happy. I see them at lots of dance parties around the area. They are like twenty-times my age, yet they are always the first ones to take to the dance floor on the nights that I see them, and usually the last ones to leave as well. You can just wind them up and they dance all night long! It’s amazing, and I hope I can be just like that when I’m older.

Anyway, when I turned and saw who it was that was laying hands on me, I was happy to see that it was the two of them. I was quick to exchange greetings and pleasantries, and I asked them how life has been treating them lately. The lady Dance Robot tells me that they have been super busy lately because they have been packing up in preparation to move.

What!!?!?!?!?!????!?!?!?!!?!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!?!?!??!???!??????

At that point, I am kind of staring at them with some sort of shocked look on my face, while the two of them are just exchanging looks and laughing about something. I’m thinking to myself how the whole Dance Kingdom would fall apart if these two moved somewhere else. Things just wouldn’t be the same, and it would be super sad!

Sparkledancer happened to be walking by at that point and stopped to greet the Dance Robots. When she sees the dumb look on my face, she asks them what’s going on, so they tell her the same thing about how they are getting packed up to move. She gets shocked too and puts her hand over her face in a gesture of surprise, but manages to hold it together well enough to ask about where they are moving to. The two Dance Robots are really laughing now, and say that they are just looking to downsize their residence, and they managed to find a smaller place just a few miles from where they currently live, so they’ll still be around to cause trouble at all sorts of dance parties for the foreseeable future.

Crisis averted. Those two… they think they are sooooooooo funny. If they weren’t so lovable, I might have to be angry with them.

Saturday morning came far too early. I had rearranged everything I normally have planned for my Saturdays so that I could head over to the Endless Dance Hall to help get everything set up for the big formal party that my little Royal Dance Court group would be throwing that night. I got to the Endless Dance Hall before we were scheduled to get started, since I was hoping to try to get some things out of the way to make sure that I could get out of there on time to be at my coaching session with Lord Dormamu later that afternoon. Sparkledancer had also agreed to meet me there at the same time, since she had to meet up with Lord Dormamu as well, so she was totally on board with getting things done as quickly as possible.

I was pleasantly surprised when I got there to find that all of the tables and almost all of the chairs had already been pulled out of storage and set up by the Endless Dance Hall’s staff prior to our arriving, and that the tables had been arranged in the manner that I had recommended! See, originally the members of the Royal Dance Court had wanted to put a table for the DJ in the middle of one of long wall against the back of the room, and line up six tables on either side of the DJ table curving down the short walls. This would have left a square-ish area for dancing in the middle of the floor. When I had gone to the Endless Dance Hall for the last competition I was in several weeks ago, they had set up six tables lined up along each long wall with a place for their DJ in the middle of one of the short walls, leaving a competition sized rectangular dance area in the middle. I had loved the look of that setup, so I had taken pictures of it and they were shared with the rest of the Royal Dance Court. While Prez was… skeptical about changing the layout, everyone else thought it would be great.

As I was taking stock of the situation inside the Endless Dance Hall, Sparkledancer and one other member of my Royal Dance Court crew showed up. Seeing the boxes with the chair covers and ties sitting over in the corner, I put the three of us to work on getting all the chairs in order. As more of the Royal Dance Court members showed up, I ended up having to tell them what things they should be starting on next, since everyone immediately started in on the chairs as well and no one went to work on any other tasks. Once Prez showed up with the boxes full of the pieces to assemble the centerpiece, I asked two of the ladies to go work with her on getting those put together and to leave the other tasks to the rest of us. I remembered what happened last year when too many people tried to deal with the centerpieces, and the arguments that followed, and how we ended up having to go back and change things several times… Not wanting to repeat that this year, I figured a small group could handle that task, and fewer hands would mean less rework required.

Things came together quickly, which was nice. We could have been slightly more efficient if people had stuck with the tasks I had asked them to do until they were finished instead of getting sidetracked, but overall I was happy to wrap everything up in about an hour and a half. I confess that I don’t often like to be the ‘alpha male’ in the room ordering a bunch of ladies around, but since I had a deadline that afternoon where I had to leave, I felt like exerting that influence was necessary to make sure that things got done. No one stopped me from delegating tasks, or questioned the executive decisions I was making to speed along the setup process, so I don’t think any of the ladies really minded me taking charge like that. Or if they did, they didn’t come say anything to me about it, which for right now I’m also going to count as a win in my book. Hooray!

Finished with the setup, I took off from the Endless Dance Hall to get to the Fancy Dance Hall for my coaching session with Lord Dormamu. This was the first time I had gotten to work with him since the competition I had done at the beginning of April. Because of that, Lord Dormamu decided that I have to go back to having things taken away from me since he still doesn’t think certain aspects of my dancing are right, and he wants me to focus on fixing those points while not worrying about anything else at the same time. Sigh… sometimes I feel like I am not actually moving forward, even though I’m supposed to be the Lead and I don’t walk backwards too often.

So what were the main points that I was able to take away from this session? I think they can best be broken down as follows:

  • I have to go back to keeping my nose in line with my sternum. Lord Dormamu says that, while it’s gotten much better, I still unconsciously lean my head to the right sometimes when I am thinking about other things, so until I can fix that habit I have to force myself to realign my default position to be neutral
  • On Double Reverse Spins in Waltz, he wants me to throw out the notion of “early quick rise” altogether. That is the technique you are supposed to use according to the book, but Lord Dormamu says that no one actually does it that way. To force Sparkledancer to bring her feet together for the Heel Turn, I should now take a shorter step that curves to the left going into the figure, which will force my partner to bring her feet together
  • Going forward, I am supposed to really emphasize the rise and fall in the Waltz by staying down farther (almost like squatting) on both beats one and three in the music, and rising up for beat two. Lord Dormamu said that he will be the one to let us know if rising and falling like that gets to be too much and we need to go back and smooth things out more, but that is how we should do it until he says otherwise

Sparkledancer’s only focus coming out of this session was that she needs to work on spreading her elbows farther and pulling her body farther to the left when in frame. There were lots of comments comparing her to a jet while he was getting her to do this, and the times that she did it right and was able to hold the position the entire time we danced something there were some explicit exclamations of joy. It’s funny when Lord Dormamu swears like that. English is obviously not his first language, and he only swears in English when really good things happen, so it catches me by surprise when I hear him do it.

That brings us to Saturday night at the formal party that I helped to host. All in all, the party went off without a hitch, and people seemed to enjoy everything going on. The dinner was good, but personally I think that the dinner rolls were the best part. After everyone had eaten and they allowed people to go back and help themselves to any of the leftover food, I think I went back to get three more rolls on top of the one I ate with my meal. Then again, the meal itself was much less food than I normally eat for dinner, so I was still hungry after dinner was finished (that is the one downside to building big muscles – you have to eat A LOT).

Throughout various parts of the evening, I was running around the dance hall taking care of things, trying to keep the people who came to attend the dance happy. The one person we had on hand from the Endless Dance Hall’s staff had been up most of the night working on something for his actual job (he just owns a gigantic dance studio as a hobby. Must be nice), so the few times we went back to the office to get things we had stored back there we found him sleeping, with the office lights still on even. That was part of the reason I tried to take care of things, leaving him to get some much deserved rest.

The dancing went really well. We did have a few minor hiccups on the dance floor, but I think those were all due to people having a bit too much to drink. There was one lady who was a bit out of control when she danced, but luckily her “date” who wasn’t actually a date took it upon himself to keep a tight leash on her about halfway through the dance. Lord Fabulous and Lord Scarry had come to the party with a large contingent of their students, and near the end of the night Lord Fabulous seemed to forget many of the rules of good floor etiquette. I saw him take one of his students and dance an East Coast Swing right in the line of dance while everyone else was dancing Foxtrot, and later in the evening I watched as he and Lord Scarry danced together, weaving a Foxtrot through all the other people on the floor doing East Coast Swing. But the worst one I saw was when Lord Fabulous took a girl who, by the look on her face didn’t know what she was doing, and attempted to do a Quickstep with her. They were all over the floor during that dance, not following the line of dance at all, and several times even traveling directly against the line of dance! That one scared me a bit, but luckily the song ended in short order.

Shortly after the halfway point of our party, I saw a new couple enter the building. I didn’t see any other members of the Royal Dance Court nearby, so I excused myself from the lady I was dancing with to run over and greet them. Introducing myself and asking if I could help them at all, they looked around a bit and told me they thought they were in the wrong place, since this didn’t look like the dance party they were looking for. I explained to them that this was my Royal Dance Court’s formal dance, and asked them what they were looking for to see if I could help. They said there was some sort of anniversary party at a ballroom studio, but they didn’t know the name of the studio off the top of their head, so they said they would just head out and call some friends of theirs to ask. I wished them luck, and they took off. Little did I know that this small event would become relevant later…

Even though Saturday was an exhausting day full of dance tasks, there hadn’t been enough time to fit in everything that I had to do, so I went out to do more dancing on Sunday as well. I had rescheduled my normal weekend coaching session with Sparkledancer and Sir Steven for Sunday afternoon, so I headed back over to the Fancy Dance Hall for the second time that weekend to see them. There was also a Latin workshop that was scheduled for late in the afternoon on Sunday that I really tried to make it out to, but I hadn’t been home all weekend so when I tried to take care of some things after getting home from my coaching session, I didn’t finish until after the workshop had already started, so I never made it there. Ah well, you can’t do everything, right?

The Fancy Dance Hall was quite a site when I got there on Sunday afternoon. The place looked trashed! All of the tables and chairs had been moved into piles in the corners or were pushed back against the wall, but I could tell that something wasn’t right after I walked through two really sticky spots on the floor as I headed over to take a seat next to where Sparkledancer was already waiting for me. Sparkledancer and I started talking about what we wanted to do to warm up before getting started, and where to go on the floor since I wanted to avoid the sticky spots I had already found, and both Lord Latin and Lord Dormamu were occupying different sections of the floor to give lessons.

Before I had even gotten my shoes on, Sir Steven came over to say hello. He had come out of the back room as soon as he had seen us, and was still eating part of his lunch, so I could tell something was up. He started off by apologizing to us for the state that the building was in. Apparently they had rented out the Fancy Dance Hall as a venue for a party the night before for some group that is associated with the Salsa community in the Dance Kingdom, and the party got to be out of control. They were still trying to clean up the mess that had been left behind, as we could plainly see. The party had lasted until well past two in the morning, and the rough estimates that they got from the people running the party was that just about 500 people had shown up, even though the Fancy Dance Hall is only rated to hold slightly less than 300 according to the fire code for the building.

The two girls from the Fancy Dance Hall’s staff who had volunteered to be on site during the party had started calling Lord Dormamu after midnight when they lost control of the situation, telling him he needed to get his butt back to the studio as fast as he could. Once the party was over, they had tried to clean up as best they could but called it quits after a couple of hours, leaving the place in a functional but messy state so that people could teach lessons on Sunday. Lord Dormamu had already called the service that comes in on Saturday mornings to clean their wooden floors to schedule them to come back as soon as possible and clean the floor all over again. There were sticky spots all over the place, and in the front there was a trail of stickiness that traveled all along the short wall in a curving pattern that looked like a giant slug had crossed the floor. I’m not sure how someone at a party managed to make a sticky mess like that, but it was kind of impressive to see!

So what was the funniest part of the whole mess? As soon as Sir Steven said the name of the event, I remembered the couple that had stopped in at the Endless Dance Hall during our formal party the night before asking about a dance party they were looking for. They had been looking for the party at the Fancy Dance Hall! Had I known that was where they were trying to go, I could have told them exactly how to get there! Small world, right?

Anyway, the stickiness of the dance floor turned out to be a metaphor for what we worked on that day with Sir Steven. He wanted us to slow down some of our movements, and to do so he had us practice leaving our feet ‘stuck’ to the ground for as long as possible in Waltz and Foxtrot. This involved doing something that I had really only done in Tango up until that point: bending my legs so that my knees extended out over my toes as far as they could before moving my back leg, filling up the time for each step. This sounds pretty simple, but it was easy enough to forget at times when trying to remember to also do the various points that Lord Dormamu asked me to do the day before (like keeping my nose in line with my sternum), and it requires you to really engage your core to help maintain your balance the entire time.

I couldn’t tell if taking my steps like that while dancing through portions of my Waltz and Foxtrot routine actually helped to slow down my steps at all, or if the steps just happened to be slower because I was trying to process so much information in my brain that it took extra time for the signals to reach my legs so that they would start moving. Either way, thinking about this did help slow down a few spots that I know tend to get rushed when I’m not paying attention (like coming out of the Reverse Turn in Foxtrot going into the Feather Ending). This is yet another thing to add to my ever-increasing list of items to do during my practice sessions. At the rate that list has been growing lately, I’m either going to have to start dividing the points up to work on only some homework items each practice session, or I’m going to have to find time to spend four or five hours in the studio for each practice session to fit everything in.

With all this dancing, it’s no wonder I have no time for much of a romantic life…

There were other dance things that I did this past week, but the stuff that happened this weekend is the important stuff I’d like to remember for posterity. Next weekend shouldn’t be quite as busy, though there will be some interesting happenings to write about. Outside of my normally scheduled weekend dancing, I have another lesson with Lord Dormamu scheduled for this coming Sunday before he heads out of town for several weeks. We’ll have to see if I am able to get in enough practice before that time for him to see a difference on the points he gave me last weekend. Wish me luck with that!

One Reply to “Some Enchanted Evening”

Tell Me Something Fun!

