You Do Your Body Work

Last weekend Lady Q was out of town, so the task of teaching her Pilates class fell to Lord Fabulous. Rather than try and teach Pilates (he has tried in the past, and it didn’t go so well…), he spent the class period teaching a surprise course that went over movement of body energy – how the body stretches and flows in the direction your movement is trying to flow. Since the class was smaller than normal (and it’s an early morning class on a Saturday, so it’s already a small class), Lord Fabulous thought it was a good opportunity to try out teaching this material since it really didn’t fit into any of the already scheduled classes they have going right now, and to see how we would all react to learning it. There was one crazy activity BodyWork1that exemplifies what I took away from the class – we were told to pretend that we had a ball of energy in one of our hands, and we were moving our whole bodies to move that ball of energy around. This started off as a solo exercise, but as the class progressed we paired off and were told to place our hands against our partners to “share” the ball of energy and move the other person without “moving” them, but rather allowing the energy of the movement to signal to the other person how they needed to move their body. Sometimes this turned into a flexibility and strength test, where we would push each other just to see how much movement the other person could handle just for fun. One partner I had got a bit carried away near the end and was convinced that she could knock me over by shifting her weight forward unexpectedly so that I would falter trying to hold her up.

It was an interesting class to go through. I’ll admit that I missed Pilates a bit. Even though it is early on a Saturday, it does help me get out of bed and get warmed up and stretched out for the rest of the day. I’m not a morning person by any stretch of the imagination, so I probably would have gotten more out of the class had it been offered later in the day when I was more awake. Lord Fabulous seemed pleased with how the class went, so I’m sure we will go through something like that again someday.

Want to know a secret? I think I really like the Pasodoble. I think I may have to put some significant effort into learning that style. There is something so ridiculous and dramatic about it, it never fails to bring a smile to my face. And no matter what else is going on, if anyone starts dancing in that style, everyone seems to turn and look. Last night, Chanel, Sparkledancer and I were standing in the middle of the studio after the Tango class and were discussing the funny cape-like movement that the ladies had learned. When we started practicing that movement, you could feel all the eyes in the room turn to watch us. Later on in the evening, Sir Steven was showing Sparkledancer and I some new movements for fun, and the group class that was going on in the other half of the room stopped and every head turned to watch what we were doing (I could see them all in the mirror, so none of them can deny it). Every time I see the people stopping to watch, it makes me laugh. I don’t know if I could keep a straight face while doing a Pasodoble routine, but I think I am going to have a goal to try and add one to my competition repertoire. It would be worth the effort, I believe.

Our Friday night outings have gotten much larger the last couple of weeks. After the Friday night social dance at the Land of the Loft, we have still been going out for ice cream. What started as a small group of us in the beginning has turned into… well, everyone. The last two weeks we somehow had everyone who had been at the studio for the dance (save for the staff, who aren’t allowed to fraternize with us outside of the business) meeting with us to get dessert and talk afterward. As you can imagine, a lot of the talk centers on dancing, since it is the one thing all of us in this rather motley crew have in common. In some ways, it’s nice to be able to all go out as one big “dance family” and spend time together, but it seems like the more people that show up, the less we end up talking as a group and the more we end up talking in several smaller groups. It will make it much harder to talk with everyone and make plans if we decide to go off on an adventure together.

Speaking of adventure… this weekend there will most likely be another dance field trip. This one wouldn’t be just random ballroom-style dancing at a random dance club, but actual ballroom dancing with an actual orchestra playing in an actual ballroom. I’m not sure if anyone will actually go with me, but I think that Sparkledancer has expressed interest. That’s probably mostly because the place is offering some dance lessons during the afternoon before the evening social dance, and she likes to go to all the classes I go to so that we can continue to dance at the same level when we compete. If it happens, I’ll be sure to tell you all about how awesome it is.

In other dance field trip news, it will only be a little over a week before denizens from all over the Dance Kingdom will be gathering at the Great Dance Hall for the Halloween dance party that they host every year. This one is an officially sanctioned dance field trip, hosted by the King and the Princess. I went to this party last year, and it was a lot of fun. In many ways, it’s a lot like going to a dance competition – everyone gathering together, wearing some kind of costume and dancing for a long time. Last year they had some game to try and encourage people to dance together socially. Being new to the Dance Kingdom when I went last year, I didn’t get very far in the game, because I was so unsure of my dance skills that I mostly stood on the outside of the room and watched what everyone else was doing, only venturing out onto the dance floor with other people who attended from the Land of the Loft that I already knew.

BodyWork2 The few of us left at the Land of the Loft who were here for that party last year have been telling everyone that they all need to get dressed up and go with us this year. It will be so much more fun if we all go together, kind of like our Friday night ice cream outings, except we can actually dance since we won’t be on concrete. It’s also rumored to be a friends and family welcome event, so if any of you are in the area, find yourselves a costume and join us for the night!

One thought on “You Do Your Body Work

Tell Me Something Fun!

